Quiche with salmon

quiche

Quiche is something that can be very easy to make with a little practice.  For me, most of the time involved in making a quiche goes to making the crust.  Although ready-made crusts can be bought frozen or refrigerated, I think the crust is one of the most important elements of the quiche and I prefer to spend a little more time messing up my kitchen and getting flour everywhere to have that perfect, flaky, buttery goodness.  The last time I made quiche, however, I made an extra crust, folded it in quarters, and put it in a Zip-loc freezer bag.  It’s currently sitting in the freezer, waiting for a day when we want quiche AND a clean kitchen.  We will see how that works out.

For the crust, I like a simple butter crust.  I used this one last time (but I left out the sugar) and it was perfect and flaky.  I’m not sure exactly how adding vodka makes the crust better but it worked very well and I couldn’t taste the vodka.  I store my flour and the vodka in the freezer.

Our pie pan is this Emile Henry Classics Cerise Pie Dish.  This was a wedding gift and I think the givers deserve a quiche sometime in the future since we have gotten so much enjoyment out of this.  I love it when the thing that you cook your dinner in is pretty enough to use as a serving dish.

Generally I use Julia Child’s quiche recipe in “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” with a few modifications.  I bake the unfilled pie dough for 5 minutes in a 375 degree oven.  Then I fill with whatever goodies I like.  Last night we cooked 1/2 lb of salmon on the grill with a little butter and flaked the fish into the pie crust, then added about 1 c of grated cheddar and some sauteed onions.  For the 9″ pie pan, I beat 4 eggs with 2 c of half and half.  For this salmon quiche I added about 1 tsp dried dill and 1/2 tsp salt.  Bake at 375 degrees for 40 minutes.  The top of the quiche should puff up a little and be slightly browned.  You want to let this cool for about 5 minutes before eating.

This is also delicious the next day.  My husband and I usually eat half of it for dinner, then we wrap up the other half in saran wrap for lunch the next day.

Leave a Reply

