Bringing a Little of Your Vacation Home with You, Part II

IMG_0210

One thing you can do to try to recreate food and drinks that you had on vacation is to search online for specific names of foods, drinks, and/or restaurants.  If the restaurant will let you photograph the menu (or take it home), you can use this to search online for those things you’d like to recreate and, if you’re lucky, you might find a recipe.  Some restaurants might even have recipes or cookbooks of their recipes that you can buy.

When my husband and I were on Maui we went to Mama’s Fish House.  This restaurant is right on the beach, and it is my favorite restaurant in Hawaii.  The menu includes all of the best foods (especially seafood) from the island, and the restaurant has a long history that you can feel.

The first thing we did there was order drinks, and I ordered “The Relaxer”.  I feel relaxed just saying that.  It’s a mix of pineapple, coconut, chocolate, and vodka.  When I got home I wanted to be able to relive that feeling of being at Mama’s, so I did some searching online and found the recipe on the blog, “Lick My Spoon”, which I reprinted below.  I made this drink for a summer party and it was a big hit.

On the same trip we also stayed at the Ritz-Carlton Kapulua, which was incredibly decadent.  We were on our honeymoon so staying there was definitely a splurge for us.  We whiled away our days by the pool enjoying their fabulous drinks.  Below are photos of their drinks list.  My favorite was the Makai Fresca, which I hope to recreate at home sometime soon.

ritz ritz2

The Relaxer:

Ingredients (makes one drink)

1 oz. Bols Dark Crème de Cacao
1 oz. Coco Lopez Crème de Coconut
1 oz. vodka
1/2 oz. milk
1/2 cup fresh pineapple, cut up and frozen (or you can substitute with 1/4 cup pineapple juice + 1/2 cup ice)

Instructions

1. Pour half of the Bols Dark Creme de Cacao into the bottom of a tall glass.
2. Blend together everything else and pour over the Dark Creme de Cacao so that it swirls up the side of glass.
3. Top with a little umbrella toothpick and try not to drink too fast because you’re going to want to.

relaxer

Leave a Reply

