My Favorite Uncluttering Books

marieOnce upon a time, I had a basement full of stuff.  I had bookshelves that were bursting at the seams.  I wasn’t exactly a hoarder, but I didn’t like all the stuff in my house.  While cleaning out my childhood home I had a tendency to fill up my car (with old puzzles and toys, a ceramic water jug shaped like Little Bo Peep, and random odds and ends) and deposit everything in the basement of my current home to deal with “later”.

Eventually, later came.  The basement flooded and I was forced to deal with all of that stuff.

I read a number of books on uncluttering, tidying, or whatever you want to call it, and I listed below the ones that I found the most helpful.  I got a tremendous amount of help from these three book, and my house was transformed.  I uncluttered it so much that I was able to add something very important…my husband!

1.  The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up, by Marie Kondo, has been getting a lot of attention lately, and rightly so.  Tidying up IS life-changing, and the author, Marie Kondo, does a good job in explaining why we should.  I put this book first on my list, even though I read it last, because I like her criteria for getting rid of things, which is, does it spark joy?  I think this is a better criteria than whether something has been used in the last year or whether you think it is beautiful.

brooks

2.  Clutter Busting: Letting Go of What’s Holding You Back, by Brooks Palmer.  This man really gets to the heart of why we keep clutter, which is mostly emotional.  It’s a very inspirational book and helped me to get rid of a lot of things.

karen

3.  Clear Your Clutter with Feng Shui, by Karen Kingston.  This was the first uncluttering book that I read and it holds a special place in my heart.  This book also addresses many of the reasons why people keep clutter, and for me, addressing these things made it easier to get rid of many things.  For example, when I asked myself why I was keeping certain books, I realized that I was keeping them so that guests in my home would think I was smart.  Out they went.

These are my top three books for clutter clearing.  I sometimes refer to these if I need some inspiration during spring cleaning.  What are your favorite resources for helping you to clear the clutter from your life?

Leave a Reply

