The Pink Paper- signature gift wrap of a different generation

I recently hosted a baby shower for my dear cousin Ann.  Ann and I are second cousins, and our grandmothers were sisters.

At the shower, another cousin gave Ann a gift and announced, “it’s wrapped in the Pink Paper.”  Apparently, this wasn’t just any pink paper, this was THE Pink Paper- the paper that their grandmother Ellen used to wrap anything and everything.  Ellen passed away a few years ago, but the Pink Paper lives on.

The Pink Paper is a lovely light, opaque, matte pink, and it came in a gigantic roll.  I don’t know where it originally came from, but I can guess.  Our grandmothers grew up very poor and were impressionable young girls during the depression, so resources and opportunities were not wasted.  I imagine this roll may have come from a store that was closing, possibly one that a friend or relative had worked in, and that Ellen saw in this roll the opportunity to never buy wrapping paper again.  And so one woman’s thrifty ways brought about a cherished family tradition of getting gifts from Grandma wrapped in the Pink Paper.  I love this idea of seeing a gift and knowing who it’s from just by how it is wrapped.

After hearing this story I was eager to create my own version of the Pink Paper.  I decided to buy a giant roll of wrapping paper that I would use to wrap anything and everything.  I eventually settled on a light blue glossy paper from Paper Mart (papermart.com).  It was under $20 for a 100 foot roll, which should last me a good long time.  I plan to use it for everything I need to wrap, along with this cream-colored ribbon.

Do you have a signature wrapping paper?  If so, I would love to know what you chose.

 

 

Leave a Reply

