American Heritage Brands

boattote

Love this article on American Heritage Brands.  I’m especially interested in those brands that are still making their products in the USA with high quality materials.  For example, I’ve found that these days when I look for jeans, it’s hard to find 100% cotton jeans.  Once upon a time most jeans were 100% cotton.  I’m not sure if it’s because of the American appetite for leisure wear or what, but these newfangled jeans with their stretch just don’t wear like the old cotton ones.

Also, according to this article, the signature product of L.L. Bean is the Maine Hunting Shoe.  For me their signature product will always be the Boat and Tote Bag, pictured above.  Monogrammable, still 100% cotton (although they also make synthetic versions), and a great gift.

When I was in high school, my best friend worked at an old-timey soda fountain downtown.  She scooped a lot of ice cream during the summers.  The owner was this classy guy who bought all of his employees a Boat and Tote bag (I believe they were the large size with the short handles) and they were embroidered with the employee’s initials.  I have loved them ever since.

Leave a Reply

